Jazmine Sullivan – ‘I ‘m Not A Robot’ – Will this be the Last We Hear from Her?…

Jazmine Sullivan recently announced on Twitter that she will be taking a break from music. Part of her tweet (which she later deleted) said “I’m making an official announcement that I am taking a break from music. I’m trying to figure out who I am… w/out a mike, paper or pen”. Following her surprising statement, a new unreleased track leaked online, entitled ‘I’m Not a Robot’. Jazmine’s contradicting, robotic vocals run throughout the song; this is like the only time I can safely say that the heavily auto-tuned vocals are actually necessary, and appropriate for this type of track and what it is all about. I personally love this number – the chorus especially is piercing and addictive.

She doesn’t want to be controlled – I guess she feels trapped and wants to break out and be free, as she sings “I gotta get out of this program and find out who I really am; I’m not a robot”.

Enormous pressure and high demands are inevitable in the music industry, and for Jasmine to admit that she doesn’t feel like she can cope with it all portrays how much of a genuine and humble person she is. I really hope this isn’t the last we hear of her but if it is then I am going to definitely savor this track, including her past music…

Leave a Reply

