Rihanna Goes Back To Her Roots On Her Upcoming ‘Loud’ Album! :-)

I wanted to feature a couple of my favourite tracks that I’ve heard lately from Rihanna’s upcoming album ‘Loud’ – an album that I’m definitely looking to cop when it’s released on the 16th November!

The first song that I immediately fell for when I first heard was ‘Man Down’. To be honest, my first thought was ‘what is it with Rihanna and guns???’ – First Russian Roulette’s “…So Just Pull The Trigger…” and now “…Oh Mama Mama Mama I Just Shot A Man Down…”. But regardless of that first thought, this track didn’t even need time to grow on me; the tune instantly stuck. I love the fact that she returns to her Caribbean roots, as you can hear from her native tongue flowing perfectly over an appropriate steady reggae melody. It’s funny how ‘Man Down’ is actually quite a dark number according to the deep and emotional lyrics, yet I can’t help but get goose bumps and smile at the same time while I’m listening. The style of the number could easily please and attract the attention of the fans that adored her during her earlier ‘Pon De Replay’ days. So love it or hate it, but she’s paying tribute to her heritage, so deal with it or skip it. But me, Im playing it, playing it and playing it! 😀

‘Cheers’ is my second favourite track that totally lives up to the album’s title. It’s fun, chilled out, and a positive feel-good number to kick off the weekend. It’s clearly a track that was created for the ones who just want to have a good time, be rid of all the stress and put their worries behind them, and I believe this up-beat tune definitely has that effect. The laid-back enunciation in her vocals fit the nature of this track, and in my opinion, this track sounds like an instant hit. 🙂

So I guess I posted this at the right time… “cheers to the freakin’ weekend I drink to that, yeah yeaaah!”

Leave a Reply

